Education is it a Right or Privilege By Cristina Arra Hamilton

One of the group pages I follow on Facebook The Black Male Teachers asked the question in a discussion for it’s members. The question was : What obligation–if any–do Black teachers have to Black students? there were several answers all were very interesting and valid. I answered based on my experiences and replied:

Cristina Arra Hamilton I first want to know this when teachers receive certification is there an oath to take? If not there should be. Something to hold teachers black and white accountable for what our students learn. There are times when the student is to blame but there are times when the teacher should step up and be responsible for their actions. In my experience … some of the black administration knew that my son was being targeted because they (the white people) had an issue with me. I was too informed and they (the white administration) didn’t want me passing what I knew on to others so instead they came together to make me look crazy while the black teachers and administration just sat and watched. Maybe out of fear they’d lose their jobs but if you stand up for what’s right then how can one be afraid of losing employment. God will provide.
I also added in my school years I must admit there were black male teachers who cared they were there for students they started clubs and mentoring programs to help them excel. But I also think its all about location and whose the majority, in a city where there’s a diverse population minority children have a stand a better chance educationally then … those where black children are out numbered. It seems like in those cities their talent must be in sports or anything that helps the school’s reputation the children especially minority ones are not the primary focus.
This was the response to me

Black Male Teachers

@Hamilton: Excellent! Generally speaking, public school teachers do undergo a certification process which includes, in at least some cases, cultural sensitivity/awareness training. And, about the personal experience you shared: I don’t know that ANYONE on staff, Black, White or in between, would have–or should have–spoken up “publicly” on your … See Morebehalf and put themselves under scrutiny without any protection. I do know for SURE that there is much that goes on behind closed doors, and sometimes it is in favor of students and parents.
I responded back with:
Cristina Arra Hamilton

So basically what you are saying is it’s best to just stand back and let wrong happen. I don’t think some of those teachers didn’t want to step up this is how it went. Because I worked for a company that felt I should submit to the dirty deceitful ways they’d show me they would go to any means to hurt me cause me harm etc even if it meant interfere… with my son’s right to an education. But they needed to do it in a way to make it seem as if he was the trouble maker and I was the crazy single parent trying to save a child not worth saving. Mean while the companies involved use the school’s staff and administration to play a game of see if I can figure it out to either go back and asked the men at the company for help, get involved romantically with a male teacher but I had to keep it quiet and they would have stopped. They were taken advantage of me being a single mother.
Leave a Reply

